STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA (March 17, 2019) – Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union opened their 33rd season of competition with the non-points WoO Weekend Special led by victories for Jake Hagopian and Mitchel Moles. Hagopian’s win was his second in the event that opens the Micro season in California, paying tribute to the World of Outlaws western swing as well.

A total of 78 entries appeared at the 1/7th mile dirt oval located at the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds.

In Super 600, Colton Hulesman led the first two laps before the caution waved for Rickey Sanders stopped in turn four. Another lap was run before Ethan Lesser stopped in turn two for a caution on lap three.

Huelsman dropped to third on the restart with third starting Hagopian claiming the top spot. Brad Hannum followed him into second place. A spin for Jake Tuttle in turn one set up another restart where Huelsman drifted backwards to sixth place. Seventh starting Nikko Panella, the 2018 track champion, began to challenge Christensen and Hannum in a three car battle for second while Hagopian stepped away.

Faccinto chipped away at the field from his 13th starting position, using a backup car after an engine failure earlier in the night. Hagopian darted away to a nearly three second advantage at the checkered flag for the $500 victory. Faccinto led Cody Christensen across the line to round out the top-three finishers. Panella and Ben Worth from ninth position on the grid completed the top-five.

Mitchel Moles drove from third to lead the opening lap of the 30 lap Non Wing feature. 2018 champion Tj Smith filed into second in his new Driven Chassis. The first caution came out on lap four for damage on the rear of Tucker Lacaze’s car.

A great four car battle ensued for third before Dave Mosier stopped in turn four for a lap seven caution. Tristian Guardino broke free solidly with third after the restart while 2018 runner-up Caden Sarale battled with former track champion Dan Mognaga.

Adam Kaeding spun around backwards in turn three and was hit by another car for a caution on lap 11. Smith took a shot at Moles for the lead on the restart but couldn’t complete the pass. He then engaged in slidejobs back and forth with Guardino for second. Sarale nabbed third from Guardino on the next restart and Mognaga followed suit to take fourth. Sarale then closed in on Smith for second on lap 22 while Moles began encountering lapped traffic.

Moles managed to navigate traffic well for the $500 win ahead of Tj Smith, Sarale, Mognaga, and Guardino.

Jade Avedisian led all 25 laps for the Restricted feature win. The start of the race saw a scramble when Reilee Phillips fell from his third starting position to sixth. A three car melee on the front stretch stopped the action with a red flag on lap three. Devon Courtnier went upside down with Austin Wood and Gauge Garcia tangled up as well.

Avedisian drove away on the restart while James Andrichuk spun from third in turn three for the next caution. Logan Trevino started eighth. He used the restart to continue his run through the field, challenging Brody Petrie for second. A wild crash stopped things when Blaine Baxter and Mattix Salmon flipped down the backstretch. The incident ended Austin Wood’s night as well.

Jeffrey Pahule advanced his way up to fifth after starting 14th. Avedisian had a brief scare in traffic on lap 14 but maintained the lead. Avedisian never looked back for the $300 win ahead of Trevino, Brody Petrie, Hailey Wood, and Garcia.

Jr. Sprints produced perhaps the most surprising result of all with Jett Barnes of Visalia starting shotgun on the field yet winning the feature. Barnes competed in the West Coast Nationals for Outlaw Karts earlier in the day and made the three hour journey south to run Delta, just in time to start the feature with no practice or heat race time.

Cash Lovenburg started on the pole and led through a series of caution flags. Barnes was up into fifth by the end of the first lap and then avoided several close calls when Brody Rubio and Kellan Harper each spun in front of him.

Lovenburg slowed to avoid a spin in turn two and Barnes pounced to lead lap ten with Kyle Fernandez taking second. Lovenburg used a restart to take second back from Fernandez. A final caution on lap 16 gave Lovenburg a chance to challenge Barnes but he was unable to do so. Barnes claimed the win over Lovenburg, Fernandez, Freddy Furr, and Ty Lovenburg.

Delta Speedway’s championship points competition opens on April 6th! Next up on the schedule is a play day on March 30th.

For more information on Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union, follow us online at or on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union also thanks Interstate Truck Center, Lovotti Air, Van De Pol Petroleum, Von Euw Trucking, Starr Property Management, Performance Electronics, Price Rite Restaurant Equipment, Genova Bakery, Bruno’s Peppers, and Panella Trucking for their support.

March 17, 2019 – WoO Weekend Special *Non Points*
Delta Speedway – Stockton, CA

Super 600 (25 cars)
Feature – 30 laps
1. 12X-Jake Hagopian, 12:14.548[3]; 2. 19C-Michael Faccinto, 12:17.184[13]; 3. 14-Cody Christensen, 12:17.460[4]; 4. 73-Nikko Panella, 12:18.253[7]; 5. 10J-Ben Worth, 12:20.017[9]; 6. 32A-Colton Huelsmann, 12:21.434[1]; 7. 13H-Brad Hannum, 12:21.481[2]; 8. 12-Alex Panella, 12:22.075[5]; 9. 01-Mitchel Moles, 12:22.797[10]; 10. 24-Caden Sarale, 12:24.399[8]; 11. 21-Raio Salmon, 12:25.245[16]; 12. 7P-Jake Andreotti, 12:15.872[12]; 13. 18-Grant Champlin, 12:16.352[17]; 14. 7-John Bordenave, 12:16.863[15]; 15. 17-Rickey Sanders, 12:19.303[14]; 16. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez, 12:19.797[11]; 17. 87P-Jacob Tuttle, 12:17.685[19]; 18. 19-Colby Thornhill, 09:22.581[6]; 19. 2-Brad Furr, 09:11.606[20]; 20. 73E-Ethan Lesser, 02:21.009[18]

Non-Wing 600 (28 cars)
Feature – 30 laps
1. 01-Mitchel Moles, 17:04.994[3]; 2. 14-T.J. Smith, 17:08.388[1]; 3. 32-Caden Sarale, 17:08.532[5]; 4. 75-Dan Mognaga, 17:08.833[2]; 5. 10Z-Tristan Guardino, 17:10.539[4]; 6. 10J-Ben Worth, 17:11.256[6]; 7. 55-Brandon Carey, 17:12.893[15]; 8. 1C-Danny Carroll, 17:13.431[16]; 9. 18-Grant Champlin, 17:15.956[12]; 10. 33B-Brent Brooks, 17:05.318[8]; 11. 17D-Angelina Dempsey, 17:06.152[20]; 12. 76-Mike Graves, 17:06.347[10]; 13. 3M-Adam Kaeding, 17:07.028[13]; 14. 87P-Jacob Tuttle, 17:07.436[19]; 15. 13W-Jacob WIlliams, 17:10.051[17]; 16. 4Q-Koen Shaw, 14:35.194[9]; 17. 10-Johnathon Henry, 11:22.266[11]; 18. 23L-Dave Mosier, 06:14.995[18]; 19. 19-Tucker LaCaze, 00:49.427[14]; (DNS) 7-Brandon Shaw, 00:49.427

Restricted 600 (15 cars)
Feature – 25 laps
1. 14J-Jade Avedisian, [1]; 2. 7T-Logan Trevino, [8]; 3. 2-Brody Petrie, [2]; 4. 2W-Hailey Wood, [5]; 5. 21-Gauge Garcia, [9]; 6. 88-Reilee Phillips, [3]; 7. 44X-Jeffery Pahule, [14]; 8. 30-Isabel Barnes, [4]; 9. 3T-Thomas Vo, [15]; 10. 77-Sage Bordenave, [13]; 11. 5-Mattix Salmon, [12]; 12. 25B-Blaine Baxter, [7]; 13. 2A-Austin Wood, [11]; 14. 20A-James Andrichuk, [6]; 15. 34-Devon Courtnier, [10]

Jr. Sprints (11 cars)
Feature – 20 laps
1. 55-Jett Barnes, [11]; 2. 21-Cash Lovenburg, [1]; 3. 77K-Kyle Fernandez, [3]; 4. 2-Freddie Furr, [5]; 5. 01T-Ty Lovenburg, [7]; 6. 25R-Brody Rubio, [4]; 7. 3C-Cynric Vo, [8]; 8. 5-Kellan Harper, [2]; 9. 20-Jonathan Andrichuk, [6]; 10. 76-Triton OBrien, [10]; 11. 98-Hayden Stepps, [9]

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.

Leave a Comment