STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA (October 22, 2018) – Payouts nearing $20,000 headline the festivities for this weekend’s Turkey Bowl XVIII presented by Jason Bright Racing at Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union. The popular postseason special event for Micro Sprints is expected to draw competitors from across the country. Each will be trying to grab their share of the prize money and to add to the prestigious history of the annual affair.

Super 600 and Non Wing will each race for $2000 to win and $100 to start, while Restricted will battle for $1500 to win and $100 to start while Jr. Sprints will race for $750 to the winner.

The previous winners list for the Super 600 Turkey Bowl reads like a who’s who of the sport. It includes 2017 winner Brandon Carey, a champion at the speedway in both Super 600 and Non Wing, plus chassis proprietors Jake Hagopian and Scott Coffman, Sprint Car and Midget standouts Michael Faccinto, Colby Copeland, Dalton Hill, and Ryan Bernal, and Micro veterans such as Brad Hannum, Ryan Reeves, and Scott Mauldin.

Kiwi Alexander has multiple Turkey Bowl victories in both Non Wing and Super 600, and joins other Non Wing winners such as 2017 winner James Ringo, multi-time winner Dan Mognaga, Gio Scelzi, and Tristan Guardino. Tyler “TJ” Smith, who has swept Delta, Lemoore, King of California, California Speedweek, and Plaza Park’s championships this year has notably never won a Turkey Bowl feature.

Restricted 600s at Turkey Bowl, featuring drivers ages 10-16, has routinely introduced young stars to the sport. Garth Kasiner won in 2017 to go along with his 2017 track championship, while 2018 Super 600 champion Nikko Panella was the 2016 Restricted winner and 2018 Non-Wing runner-up Caden Sarale won the 2015 Restricted event.

The youngest drivers in Jr. Sprints also get their chance to race for the Turkey Bowl spotlight with the 2017 edition won by 2018 Delta and King of California champion Dalton Parreira. 2018 Delta Restricted track champion Caeden Steele won the 2015 Jr. Sprint edition with Nikko and Alex Panella, Kasiner, and Sarale all among former Jr. Sprint Turkey Bowl champions.

Racing will kick off Friday night with heat races and qualifiers that set the lineups for Saturday’s feature events. Saturday’s action includes lower mains, pole shuffles, and the coveted main events. The high point earning car from each division on Friday night will earn cash prizes courtesy of Micro Sprint Mart and Elk Grove Ford.

A bevy of local partners are supporting the race including Jason Bright Racing, Elk Grove Ford, Seros Racing Engines, Shaw’s Structures, Teletech Communications, Monticello Farming, Winzer, East Bay Tire, Righetti Enterprises, Auto Industrial Paint, Clutch & Brake Xchange, Battery Bill, General Trailer, Bobcat Central, Napa Auto Parts, and Micro Sprint Mart.

Entry will be at the gate and is $120 and includes car and driver both days. Friday pit gates open at 1 p.m. with the drivers meeting at 5:30 p.m. followed by hot laps, heat races, and qualifiers. Saturday pit gates will open at 1 p.m. with the drivers meeting at 4:30 p.m. followed by hot laps, lower mains, pole shuffles, Turkey Bowl XVIII features.

Pit passes are just $20 each day with no membership required. Grandstand tickets each night are $10 for adults, $5 for kids 6-12, seniors 55+ and military, with kids 5 and under free!

For more information on Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union, follow us online at or on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.

Leave a Comment