STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA (July 7, 2024) – Stockton’s Caden Sarale became only the second back-to-back champion in Hoosier Tire California Speedweek history on Saturday night, earning the Non-Wing champion for the second time. Sarale was joined at Delta Speedway by Glendale, Ariz.’s Austin Torgerson, Bakersfield’s Blayden Graham, and Riverdale’s Mackcen Roush as champions of the four race Micro Sprint series in the golden state which paid $61,100 in cash and prizes. Photo by Angela Ward

Not only did Caden Sarale win the Non-Wing championship, he claimed both the Super 600 and Non-Wing feature events on Saturday. Sarale lifted his total count of Speedweek wooden bear trophies to 14 with 11 wins and three championships in his career.

“I’ve already got (the bears) lined up at the shop but I’m going to have to see if I squeeze a few more in there,” Sarale said. “Track was very technical again just like last night, around the top. The car was just set up great in both classes. It kind of made my job easy.”

Sarale entered the evening with an 18-point advantage in Non-Wing on the strength of a Friday night victory. He kicked off Saturday action with fast-time over a 39-car field. Mattix Salmon, Jeffrey Pahule, Austin Torgerson, and Eric Botelho won the heat races.

Broedy Graham of Bakersfield won the opening lap of the feature with Sarale moving up to second. Sarale then worked to the outside of Graham to lead lap two. Botelho flipped on the backstretch for a red flag on lap six.

Sarale led Graham into lapped traffic with 12 laps to go but Sarale rolled through the traffic well. Sarale led comfortably the rest of the way for the $1000 win and the $2100 championship prize. Graham finished second followed by Texas’ Brecken Reese, Pahule, and Salmon. Quinn Thurein won a $100 bonus as the weeklong Hard Charger.

In Winged Super 600 action, Austin Torgerson kicked off his championship winning effort with the $100 Hyper Racing fast-time. Colton Key, Stefan Sidur, and Sarale won the 10-lap heat races.

Jeffrey Pahule of Brentwood charged around Key to lead lap one of the 30-lap feature. Action was halted on lap 12 when Key got sideways in turn one, with Bakersfield’s Jett Yantis and Montana’s Cole Schroeder crashing hard to avoid.

Sarale used the restart to challenge Pahule for the top spot. He crossed over Pahule in turn four to lead lap 18. Sarale darted away to a 1.602 advantage and the $1000 win. Pahule finished second over Sidur and Christensen. Torgerson drove from 11th to fifth, sealing the $2000 series championship. Raio Salmon of Fresno was the weeklong hard charger.

Restricted also saw its eventual champion top time trials, with Bakersfield’s Blayden Graham earning the honor. Aubri Huckleberry and Colton Knapp then won the heat race competition.

Graham started on the pole for the 25-lap feature and dominated the fast-paced affair for his first $500 feature win of the 2024 Speedweek. After suffering a narrow loss in the 2023 Restricted championship battle, the 11-year-old driver delivered in 2024 with the $1000 series title. Graham was followed in Saturday’s feature by Huckleberry, Knapp, Tucson’s Jace Thurein, and Scottsdale, Ariz.’s Jaxon Porter. Graham was also the weeklong hard charger.

Jr. Sprints joined Non-Wing as the only divisions to see any repeat winners throughout the four nights of competition. Qualifying kicked off the action with 11-year-old Connor Penix leading the way. Wednesday night winner Jaxson Evett of Visalia and Penix then won the heat races.

For the second consecutive night, the opening lap of the 20-lap feature had a wild crash when Logan Banks of Bakersfield spun sideways on the frontstretch and collected three cars. Everyone involved continued, however.

A spin for opening night winner Lee Uzzell in turn four set up a two-lap shootout between Penix and Evett. Evett jumped at the opportunity, driving around the outside of Penix for his second $500 win of the week. Tyce Domingos of Tulare, Jayden Ferneau of Peoria, Ariz., and round three winner Heston Stepps of Oakdale rounded out the top-five finishers.

Eight-year-old Mackcen Roush paired three second place finishes with a sixth-place finish in the finale to seal the $1000 inaugural Jr. Sprints Speedweek championship. Missouri’s Liam Barton won the weeklong hard charger.

California Speedweek thanks its partners Hoosier Racing Tire, Chase Chevrolet, Engler Machine and Tool, G Baby Specialties, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hyper Racing, Wilwood Disc Brakes, CSI Shocks, Citywide Graphics, Shaw’s Structures, Schure Built Suspension, Bullet Impressions, Fast Four Media, and MyRacePass for their support.

For more information, visit

Hoosier Tire California Speedweek Results – Night No. 4 Delta Speedway

NON WING – 39 entries

A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 32-Caden Sarale[3]; 2. 66-Broedy Graham[1]; 3. 20Q-Brecken Reese[6]; 4. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[7]; 5. 5-Mattix Salmon[4]; 6. 7-Quinn Thurein[9]; 7. 1J-Cameron Paul[15]; 8. 35-Gaige Weldon[20]; 9. 88-Austin Torgerson[8]; 10. 4-Jett Yantis[13]; 11. 3-Cole Schroeder[2]; 12. 14-TJ Smith[11]; 13. 24-KJ Snow[17]; 14. 44-Darren Brown[16]; 15. 24AZ-JW Henderson[19]; 16. 29V-Vito Celli `[18]; 17. 74-Robby Brockman[22]; 18. 69-Cody Gray[21]; 19. 21-Cash Lovenburg[10]; 20. 2B-Eric Botelho[5]; 21. (DNS) 8G-Teddy Bivert; 22. (DNS) 02-Ashton Torgerson

SUPER 600 – 26 entries

A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 24X-Caden Sarale[3]; 2. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[2]; 3. 11X-Stefan Sidur[4]; 4. 14-Cody Christensen[8]; 5. 88-Austin Torgerson[11]; 6. 20Q-Brecken Reese[7]; 7. 51-Dalton Parreira[18]; 8. 5-Mattix Salmon[13]; 9. 24-KJ Snow[19]; 10. 13-Elijah Gile[10]; 11. 63-Colton Key[1]; 12. 21-Raio Salmon[14]; 13. 3X-Cody Key[17]; 14. 54-Maverick Myrick[15]; 15. 55-Jett Barnes[20]; 16. 84-Deegan Irey[16]; 17. 11M-Keaton Martella[22]; 18. 2AU-Jac Laneyrie[21]; 19. 12-Alex Panella[9]; 20. 4-Jett Yantis[5]; 21. 3-Cole Schroeder[6]; 22. 22E-Evan Dixon[12]

RESTRICTED – 13 entries

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 66B-Blayden Graham[1]; 2. 10J-Aubri Huckleberry[3]; 3. 5C-Colton Knapp[4]; 4. 5-Jace Thurein[2]; 5. 222-Jaxon Porter[6]; 6. 17B-Brycen Roush[5]; 7. 98-Hayden Stepps[8]; 8. 27C-Cam Carraway[7]; 9. 38JT-Jackson Tardiff[13]; 10. 96-Briggs Davis[9]; 11. 16S-Bryson Sozinho[12]; 12. 11A-Austin Lee[10]; 13. 9J-Levi Osborne[11]

JR SPRINTS – 15 entries
A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 4-Jaxson Evett[3]; 2. 3P-Connor Penix[2]; 3. 9D-Tyce Domingos[1]; 4. 37J-Jayden Ferneau[5]; 5. 99-Heston Stepps[4]; 6. 17M-Mackcen Roush[9]; 7. 3D-David Anderson[11]; 8. 19-Liam Barton[13]; 9. 3B-Boston Banks[12]; 10. 12-Haven Sherman[15]; 11. 4U-Lee Uzzell[10]; 12. 7L-Logan Banks[6]; 13. 9B-Beau Bickner[7]; 14. 32-Matteo Logan[14]; 15. 23-Micah Porter[8]

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.