STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA (May 20, 2018) – Michael Faccinto made his triumphant return to Super 600 Micro Sprints, grabbing Saturday’s $500 to win 30 lap feature at Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union.  The feature win capped a weekend sweep of both nights of King of California action after winning Friday night at Dixon Speedway as well.

The 1/7th mile dirt oval at the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds was treated to another large field with over 120 cars in attendance.  It marked the third consecutive 2018 points race with more than 100 entrants.

Faccinto topped qualifying over the 29 car Super 600 field, then finished second in his heat race to make the feature.  He started eighth after the inversion but wasted little time going to the front and maintaining it through several restarts late in the going.  2014 Delta Speedway Super 600 champion Travis Labat of Fairfield ran second ahead of 2017 champion Jake Andreotti of Castro Valley, Fresno’s Raio Salmon, and incoming King of California points leader Joey Ancona of Concord.

Tyler “TJ” Smith is on a tear of his own in the Non Wing competition, also picking up a weekend sweep.  The Non Wing division had nearly 50 cars in attendance once again with a season long average just a tick under 50 through the first three events at Delta Speedway.

Smith qualified third and started third after a zero inversion and drove away from ninth starting Chad Laughton to take the $500, 30 lap feature victory.  The main event paid down all the way to the 22nd starter due to the large car count.  Fast-time qualifier Justyne Hamblin was third ahead of James Ringo and a strong performance by San Bruno’s Angelina Dempsey in fifth.  Four of the top-five were also in the top-five on Friday night at Dixon in a dominating weekend for them.

Caden Stoll earned his second Delta Speedway Restricted victory of 2018, to go along with a fourth place finish on May 5th in a big start to his campaign.  The young driver took the lead from Logan Trevino on lap 19 and led the final six laps for victory.  Washington’s Colby Thornhill, fast-time qualifier, charged from eighth after the inversion to finish third ahead of Corey Day and Elk Grove’s Devon Courtnier.

The wildest finish of the evening came for the youngest drivers in the Jr. Sprints, with their 20 lap feature seeing Elk Grove’s Austin Wood and Prunedale’s Caleb Debem trade the lead back and forth in the final three laps.  Debem led much of the main event before the battle ensued after a late race caution.  Debem wrestled the lead back on lap 19 to get his first win of the season with Wood second ahead of Dalton Parreira, Andrew Hintz, and Tanner Whitaker.

Delta Speedway takes a short break before returning June 15th and 16th for the annual Summer Sizzler, with two complete nights of points racing taking place during the San Joaquin County Fair.

For more information on Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union, follow us online at www.deltaspeedwaystockton.com or on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Many thanks to Financial Center Credit Union, Tuleburg, Lovotti Air, Motion Media Wraps, Van De Pol Petroleum, Interstate Truck Center, Von Euw Trucking, Morrill Industries, Sanborn Chevrolet, Genova Bakery, Price Rite Restaurant Equipment, Bruno’s Peppers, and Hoosier Tire West for their support of Delta Speedway!

May 20, 2018 – Points Race #3 & King of California #6
Delta Speedway – StocktonCA

Super 600 (29 cars)
Feature – 30 laps
1. 19-Michael Faccinto, 15:38.889[8]; 2. 1-Travis Labat, 15:40.245[2]; 3. 7P-Jake Andreotti, 15:41.533[12]; 4. 21-Raio Salmon, 15:41.569[6]; 5. 88A-Joey Ancona, 15:41.951[18]; 6. 22-Keith Day Jr., 15:43.266[5]; 7. 73-Nikko Panella, 15:44.061[14]; 8. 12-Alex Panella, 15:44.814[7]; 9. 17-Dillon Horsley, 15:45.567[17]; 10. 63-Ryan Delisle, 15:45.680[10]; 11. 21K-Kyle Mentch, 15:46.396[11]; 12. 94-Greg Decaires V, 15:46.907[4]; 13. 44-Ben Worth, 15:47.186[3]; 14. 55-Brandon Carey, 15:47.260[19]; 15. 5-Mike Rich, 15:47.853[15]; 16. 06-Blake Bower, 15:48.159[20]; 17. 24-Caden Sarale, 11:36.288[1]; 18. 83V-Tim Vaught, 11:39.198[9]; 19. 11D-Vincent Duggan, 11:40.843[16]; 20. 15-Cody Key, 01:51.150[13]

Non-Wing 600 (48 cars)
Feature – 30 laps
1. 14-Tyler Smith, [3]; 2. 26-Chad Laughton, [9]; 3. 8H-Justyne Hamblin, [1]; 4. 37T-James Ringo, [2]; 5. 17D-Angelina Dempsey, [4]; 6. 75-Dan Mognaga, [10]; 7. 32-Caden Sarale, [12]; 8. 09-Kevin Carter, [17]; 9. 51-Brody Fuson, [8]; 10. 10-Blake McGourty, [14]; 11. 3R-Nick Robfogel, [5]; 12. 20-Dalton Hill, [18]; 13. 3L-Jimmy Leal, [21]; 14. 7B-Brandon Shaw, [20]; 15. 76-Mike Graves, [22]; 16. 13W-Jacob WIlliams, [19]; 17. 12-Mike Ludwig, [7]; 18. 7W-Mike Wasina, [13]; 19. 4Q-Nick Ringo Jr, [6]; 20. 3M-Adam Kaeding, [16]; 21. 55-Brandon Carey, [11]; 22. 33B-Brent Brooks, [15]

Restricted 600 (35 cars)
Feature – 25 laps
1. 2C-Caden Stoll, [3]; 2. 7T-Logan Trevino, [1]; 3. 19X-Colby Thornhill, [8]; 4. 41-Corey Day, [4]; 5. 34-Devon Courtnier, [2]; 6. 02-Tyler Martin, [6]; 7. 61-Eli Bookout, [13]; 8. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez, [5]; 9. 73-Katey Syra, [10]; 10. 4G-Brian Gilbert, [12]; 11. 2-Brody Petrie, [14]; 12. 121-Caeden Steele, [15]; 13. 33-Dylan Bloomfield, [11]; 14. 5X-Mattix Salmon, [16]; 15. 4B-Brandt Twitty, [17]; 16. 77-Sage Bordenave, [20]; 17. 7D-Drew Mowry, [9]; 18. 30-Isabel Barnes, [18]; 19. 44X-Jeffery Pahule, [7]; 20. 5-Rickey Sanders, [19]

Jr. Sprints (11 cars)
Feature – 20 laps
1. 3D-Caleb Debem, [1]; 2. 2-Austin Wood, [2]; 3. 51-Dalton Parreria, [3]; 4. 19-Andrew Hintz, [6]; 5. 75-Tanner Whitiker, [9]; 6. 5S-Selena Little, [10]; 7. 63-Colton Key, [5]; 8. 55-Jett Barnes, [4]; 9. 76-Triton OBrien, [8]; 10. 25R-Brody Rubio, [11]; 11. 55X-Lucas Mauldin, [7]

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.

Leave a Comment